Home › Georgia › Species › Rail
Migratory birds
Georgia Rail Hunting
Rail season has two splits: Sep 11 to Sep 14, 2026 and Sep 26 to Nov 30, 2026. This guide gathers the rail calendar, limits, licenses, legal weapons and public land.
Photo: The Hendersons Paradox (CC BY-SA 2.0)
King and clapper rails, the marsh hens of the coastal salt marsh, are 15 a day; sora and Virginia rails are 25. Clapper rails live in the coastal salt marsh behind the barrier islands. The guide does not state the nontoxic shot rule for rails, so check federal rules before using lead.
What WRD prints about rails
- Methods allowed: Shotguns plugged to 3 shells (federal rules apply). Nontoxic shot not stated for rails in the guide.
- Worth knowing: Sept. 11-14 and Sept. 26-Nov. 30; falconry extended dates.
Rail take, day and season
Limits for rails as numbers and as written.
King & clapper rail
15 per day; possession 3x daily.
Sora & virginia rail
25 per day; possession 3x daily.
Migratory birds (falconry)
Ducks, coots and rails by falconry: 3 per day, 9 in possession.
When rails are open in Georgia
7 dated rows for rails from the 2026-27 guide, with private land, zone and public land segments kept apart.
| Season | Area | From | Through | Days | Open? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Falconry (extended) | Statewide | Sep 5, 2026 | Sep 27, 2026 | 23 | |
| Falconry (extended) | Statewide | Oct 10, 2026 | Oct 25, 2026 | 16 | |
| Falconry (extended) | Statewide | Nov 14, 2026 | Nov 15, 2026 | 2 | |
| Falconry (extended) | Statewide | Nov 21, 2026 | Dec 6, 2026 | 16 | |
| Falconry (extended) | Statewide | Dec 12, 2026 | Jan 31, 2027 | 51 | |
| King, clapper, sora and Virginia rails | Statewide | Sep 11, 2026 | Sep 14, 2026 | 4 | |
| King, clapper, sora and Virginia rails | Statewide | Sep 26, 2026 | Nov 30, 2026 | 66 |
Rail row notes
- 3 per day, 9 in possession (falconry). Valid falconry permit and hunting license required.
- King & clapper 15 per day; sora & Virginia 25 per day.
From the Georgia DNR Wildlife Resources Division 2026-27 season page and the 2026-27 guide (PDF), checked October 13, 2026.
Public land for rails in Georgia
Public ground for rails: 130 areas, largest first. Read each area listing for quota and sign-in rules.
| Area | Type | Counties | Region | Size, acres |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forests | National Forest | Rabun, Fannin, Union | – | 869,017 |
| Blue Ridge Ranger District | National Forest Ranger District | Union, Lumpkin, Fannin | Gainesville | 302,238 |
| Chattooga River Ranger District | National Forest Ranger District | Rabun, White, Habersham | Gainesville | 261,439 |
| Conasauga Ranger District | National Forest Ranger District | Murray, Fannin, Gilmer | Gainesville | 188,617 |
| Oconee Ranger District | National Forest Ranger District | Putnam, Jasper, Greene | Thomson | 116,724 |
| Cohutta WMA | Wildlife Management Area | Murray, Fannin, Gilmer | Armuchee | 92,647 |
| Cedar Creek WMA | Wildlife Management Area | Putnam, Jones, Jasper | Thomson | 41,000 |
| Redlands WMA | Wildlife Management Area | Greene, Oglethorpe, Morgan | Gainesville | 37,500 |
| Dixon Memorial WMA | Wildlife Management Area | Ware, Brantley | Brunswick | 35,247 |
| Townsend WMA | Wildlife Management Area | Long, McIntosh | Brunswick | 34,294 |
| Altamaha WMA | Wildlife Management Area | McIntosh | Brunswick | 31,569 |
| Savannah National Wildlife Refuge | National Wildlife Refuge | Effingham, Chatham | Fitzgerald | 30,715 |
| Paulding Forest WMA | Wildlife Management Area | Paulding, Polk | Armuchee | 28,183 |
| John's Mountain WMA | Wildlife Management Area | Gordon, Walker, Floyd | Armuchee | 23,710 |
| Crockford-Pigeon Mountain WMA | Wildlife Management Area | Walker | Armuchee | 21,895 |
Other rail ground, by size
Rich Mountain WMA (20,674 ac) · Chickasawhatchee WMA (19,700 ac) · Sansavilla WMA (19,084 ac) · Swallow Creek WMA (19,000 ac) · Lake Russell WMA (17,300 ac) · Bullard Creek WMA (17,005 ac) · Little Satilla WMA (16,990 ac) · Paulks Pasture WMA (16,066 ac) · Ceylon WMA (16,000 ac) · Warwoman WMA (15,800 ac) · Berry College WMA (15,605 ac) · Ocmulgee WMA (15,475 ac) · Tuckahoe WMA (15,100 ac) · Oaky Woods WMA (13,450 ac) · B.F. Grant WMA (11,400 ac) · Eufaula National Wildlife Refuge (11,184 ac) · Penholoway Swamp WMA (11,177 ac) · Canoochee Sandhills WMA (10,224 ac) · Clarks Hill WMA – East (10,224 ac) · West Point WMA (10,000 ac) · Ohoopee Dunes WMA (9,271 ac) · Chattahoochee Fall Line WMA: VPA Tracts (9,048 ac) · Sapelo Island WMA (9,000 ac) · Flat Tub WMA (8,748 ac) · Grand Bay WMA (8,700 ac) · Lake Seminole WMA (8,300 ac) · Chattahoochee Fall Line WMA: Hilliard Plantation Tract (8,089 ac) · Oconee WMA (7,930 ac) · Yuchi WMA (7,800 ac) · Bond Swamp National Wildlife Refuge (7,760 ac) · Allatoona WMA (7,589 ac) · Richmond Hill WMA (7,400 ac) · Horse Creek WMA (7,397 ac) · Big Hammock WMA (7,315 ac) · Treat Mountain WMA (7,260 ac) · Big Lazer Creek WMA (7,200 ac) · Alapaha River WMA (6,870 ac) · Chattahoochee Fall Line WMA: Almo Tract (6,700 ac) · Clybel WMA (6,700 ac) · Sprewell Bluff WMA: West (6,571 ac) · Mayhaw WMA (6,300 ac) · Griffin Ridge WMA (5,975 ac) · Rum Creek WMA (5,800 ac) · Hannahatchee Creek WMA (5,600 ac) · Sheffield WMA (5,556 ac) · Beaverdam WMA (5,500 ac) · Clayhole Swamp WMA (5,242 ac) · Tallapoosa River WMA (5,215 ac) · Blanton Creek WMA (4,800 ac) · Moody Forest WMA (4,675 ac) · Altama Plantation WMA (4,612 ac) · Lanahassee Creek WMA (4,440 ac) · Joe Kurz WMA (3,700 ac) · River Bend WMA (3,670 ac) · Rogers WMA (3,340 ac) · plus 60 smaller areas
Areas and species lists from WRD’s 2026-27 area listings, the WRD WMA layers and federal managers, retrieved 2026-10-13. Harvest by area from WRD Game Check.
Legal requirements for rails
The rail rules below come from the guide’s license, hunting information and definitions pages.
Licenses
| What to buy | Resident | Nonresident |
|---|---|---|
| Hunting License | $15.00 | $100.00 |
| GA migratory bird license | $5.00 | $5.00 |
Daily hours
Sunset is the end of legal time for rails, as for doves and ducks; the morning start is 30 minutes before sunrise.
Orange or blaze pink
Migratory bird hunters may skip the orange, even on WMAs during deer gun hunts.
Hunting over bait
The federal baiting rule, 50 CFR Part 20, applies to rails.
Sunday status
Sundays are open for rails under the statewide seasons; a WMA listing can set its own days.
From the Georgia DNR Wildlife Resources Division 2026-27 guide, licenses and fees and hunting information, checked October 13, 2026. Georgia hunting laws · License guide.
Rail weapons and methods
Read the weapons rows with the season table: the legal gun depends on the segment.
| Season | Legal weapons | Off limits |
|---|---|---|
| Waterfowl / migratory birds | Shotguns 10 ga or smaller with federally approved nontoxic shot size F or smaller for waterfowl; shotguns limited to 3 shells (one-piece plug) for all migratory birds. | Possessing lead shot while hunting waterfowl. |
Field rules for rails
Vehicles, boats and aircraft
Unlawful to hunt from a vehicle, plane, or boat under power; unlawful to hunt or shoot from or across a public road or discharge a firearm within 50 yards of a public road.
Transporting game killed by another
Deer: written name, address, phone, license number and Game Check confirmation number of the hunter. Migratory birds: hunter signature, address, number by species and dates.
2026-27 guide (PDF) and the hunting information page, checked October 13, 2026.
Rail country gear list
Buttons open a live Amazon search, so you see current prices.
Amazon links are affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no cost to you.
Rail questions, answered from the guide
When is marsh hen season in Georgia?
Clapper and king rails are open Sep 11 to Sep 14, 2026 and Sep 26 to Nov 30, 2026, 15 a day.
Which days are rails legal in 2026-27?
The rail dates are king, clapper, sora and virginia rails Sep 11 to Sep 14, 2026; king, clapper, sora and virginia rails Sep 26 to Nov 30, 2026.
What can I hunt rails with?
Waterfowl / migratory birds: Shotguns 10 ga or smaller with federally approved nontoxic shot size F or smaller for waterfowl; shotguns limited to 3 shells (one-piece plug) for all migratory birds.
Which permits apply to rails?
Marsh hen hunters need (resident price): Hunting License ($15.00); GA migratory bird license ($5.00).
How many rails can one hunter take in Georgia?
15 per day; possession 3x daily. 25 per day; possession 3x daily.
What time does legal light end for rails?
Sunset is the end of legal time for rails, as for doves and ducks; the morning start is 30 minutes before sunrise.
What public ground in Georgia has rails?
130 areas on our list qualify; the largest are Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forests, Blue Ridge Ranger District (Chattahoochee National Forest) and Chattooga River Ranger District (Chattahoochee National Forest).
Is baiting legal for rails?
The federal baiting rule, 50 CFR Part 20, applies to rails.
Do marsh hen hunters have to wear orange in Georgia?
Migratory bird hunters may skip the orange, even on WMAs during deer gun hunts.
May marsh hen hunters go out on Sundays?
Sundays are open for rails under the statewide seasons; a WMA listing can set its own days.
Before the rail trip
WRD’s guide is the final word on rails; this page was checked against it on October 13, 2026.
Other photos on this page: sgharvey (CC BY 2.0); Judy Gallagher (CC BY 2.0); USFWS Mountain Prairie (CC BY 2.0); usdanrcstexas (CC BY 2.0); DaPuglet (CC BY-SA 2.0); Virginia State Parks staff (CC BY 2.0).