Home › Georgia › Species › Rail

Migratory birds

Georgia Rail Hunting

Rail season has two splits: Sep 11 to Sep 14, 2026 and Sep 26 to Nov 30, 2026. This guide gathers the rail calendar, limits, licenses, legal weapons and public land.

Sep 5Season opens
Jan 31Ends
7Rows in the guide
130Public land

Photo: The Hendersons Paradox (CC BY-SA 2.0)

King and clapper rails, the marsh hens of the coastal salt marsh, are 15 a day; sora and Virginia rails are 25. Clapper rails live in the coastal salt marsh behind the barrier islands. The guide does not state the nontoxic shot rule for rails, so check federal rules before using lead.

What WRD prints about rails

King & clapper 15 per dayBag
  • Methods allowed: Shotguns plugged to 3 shells (federal rules apply). Nontoxic shot not stated for rails in the guide.
  • Worth knowing: Sept. 11-14 and Sept. 26-Nov. 30; falconry extended dates.

WRD guide

Rail take, day and season

Limits for rails as numbers and as written.

15Marsh hens daily
25Soras or Virginias daily
2Splits
Sep 11Opens

King & clapper rail

guide

15 per day; possession 3x daily.

Sora & virginia rail

guide

25 per day; possession 3x daily.

Migratory birds (falconry)

guide

Ducks, coots and rails by falconry: 3 per day, 9 in possession.

When rails are open in Georgia

7 dated rows for rails from the 2026-27 guide, with private land, zone and public land segments kept apart.

SeasonAreaFromThroughDaysOpen?
Falconry (extended)StatewideSep 5, 2026Sep 27, 202623
Falconry (extended)StatewideOct 10, 2026Oct 25, 202616
Falconry (extended)StatewideNov 14, 2026Nov 15, 20262
Falconry (extended)StatewideNov 21, 2026Dec 6, 202616
Falconry (extended)StatewideDec 12, 2026Jan 31, 202751
King, clapper, sora and Virginia railsStatewideSep 11, 2026Sep 14, 20264
King, clapper, sora and Virginia railsStatewideSep 26, 2026Nov 30, 202666

Rail row notes

  • 3 per day, 9 in possession (falconry). Valid falconry permit and hunting license required.
  • King & clapper 15 per day; sora & Virginia 25 per day.

From the Georgia DNR Wildlife Resources Division 2026-27 season page and the 2026-27 guide (PDF), checked October 13, 2026.

Public land for rails in Georgia

Public ground for rails: 130 areas, largest first. Read each area listing for quota and sign-in rules.

AreaTypeCountiesRegionSize, acres
Chattahoochee-Oconee National ForestsNational ForestRabun, Fannin, Union–869,017
Blue Ridge Ranger DistrictNational Forest Ranger DistrictUnion, Lumpkin, FanninGainesville302,238
Chattooga River Ranger DistrictNational Forest Ranger DistrictRabun, White, HabershamGainesville261,439
Conasauga Ranger DistrictNational Forest Ranger DistrictMurray, Fannin, GilmerGainesville188,617
Oconee Ranger DistrictNational Forest Ranger DistrictPutnam, Jasper, GreeneThomson116,724
Cohutta WMAWildlife Management AreaMurray, Fannin, GilmerArmuchee92,647
Cedar Creek WMAWildlife Management AreaPutnam, Jones, JasperThomson41,000
Redlands WMAWildlife Management AreaGreene, Oglethorpe, MorganGainesville37,500
Dixon Memorial WMAWildlife Management AreaWare, BrantleyBrunswick35,247
Townsend WMAWildlife Management AreaLong, McIntoshBrunswick34,294
Altamaha WMAWildlife Management AreaMcIntoshBrunswick31,569
Savannah National Wildlife RefugeNational Wildlife RefugeEffingham, ChathamFitzgerald30,715
Paulding Forest WMAWildlife Management AreaPaulding, PolkArmuchee28,183
John's Mountain WMAWildlife Management AreaGordon, Walker, FloydArmuchee23,710
Crockford-Pigeon Mountain WMAWildlife Management AreaWalkerArmuchee21,895

Other rail ground, by size

Rich Mountain WMA (20,674 ac) · Chickasawhatchee WMA (19,700 ac) · Sansavilla WMA (19,084 ac) · Swallow Creek WMA (19,000 ac) · Lake Russell WMA (17,300 ac) · Bullard Creek WMA (17,005 ac) · Little Satilla WMA (16,990 ac) · Paulks Pasture WMA (16,066 ac) · Ceylon WMA (16,000 ac) · Warwoman WMA (15,800 ac) · Berry College WMA (15,605 ac) · Ocmulgee WMA (15,475 ac) · Tuckahoe WMA (15,100 ac) · Oaky Woods WMA (13,450 ac) · B.F. Grant WMA (11,400 ac) · Eufaula National Wildlife Refuge (11,184 ac) · Penholoway Swamp WMA (11,177 ac) · Canoochee Sandhills WMA (10,224 ac) · Clarks Hill WMA – East (10,224 ac) · West Point WMA (10,000 ac) · Ohoopee Dunes WMA (9,271 ac) · Chattahoochee Fall Line WMA: VPA Tracts (9,048 ac) · Sapelo Island WMA (9,000 ac) · Flat Tub WMA (8,748 ac) · Grand Bay WMA (8,700 ac) · Lake Seminole WMA (8,300 ac) · Chattahoochee Fall Line WMA: Hilliard Plantation Tract (8,089 ac) · Oconee WMA (7,930 ac) · Yuchi WMA (7,800 ac) · Bond Swamp National Wildlife Refuge (7,760 ac) · Allatoona WMA (7,589 ac) · Richmond Hill WMA (7,400 ac) · Horse Creek WMA (7,397 ac) · Big Hammock WMA (7,315 ac) · Treat Mountain WMA (7,260 ac) · Big Lazer Creek WMA (7,200 ac) · Alapaha River WMA (6,870 ac) · Chattahoochee Fall Line WMA: Almo Tract (6,700 ac) · Clybel WMA (6,700 ac) · Sprewell Bluff WMA: West (6,571 ac) · Mayhaw WMA (6,300 ac) · Griffin Ridge WMA (5,975 ac) · Rum Creek WMA (5,800 ac) · Hannahatchee Creek WMA (5,600 ac) · Sheffield WMA (5,556 ac) · Beaverdam WMA (5,500 ac) · Clayhole Swamp WMA (5,242 ac) · Tallapoosa River WMA (5,215 ac) · Blanton Creek WMA (4,800 ac) · Moody Forest WMA (4,675 ac) · Altama Plantation WMA (4,612 ac) · Lanahassee Creek WMA (4,440 ac) · Joe Kurz WMA (3,700 ac) · River Bend WMA (3,670 ac) · Rogers WMA (3,340 ac) · plus 60 smaller areas

Areas and species lists from WRD’s 2026-27 area listings, the WRD WMA layers and federal managers, retrieved 2026-10-13. Harvest by area from WRD Game Check.

Legal requirements for rails

The rail rules below come from the guide’s license, hunting information and definitions pages.

Licenses

What to buyResidentNonresident
Hunting License$15.00$100.00
GA migratory bird license$5.00$5.00

Go Outdoors Georgia adds $3 a transaction ($5 by phone).

Daily hours

Sunset is the end of legal time for rails, as for doves and ducks; the morning start is 30 minutes before sunrise.

Orange or blaze pink

Migratory bird hunters may skip the orange, even on WMAs during deer gun hunts.

Hunting over bait

The federal baiting rule, 50 CFR Part 20, applies to rails.

Sunday status

Sundays are open for rails under the statewide seasons; a WMA listing can set its own days.

From the Georgia DNR Wildlife Resources Division 2026-27 guide, licenses and fees and hunting information, checked October 13, 2026. Georgia hunting laws · License guide.

Rail weapons and methods

Read the weapons rows with the season table: the legal gun depends on the segment.

SeasonLegal weaponsOff limits
Waterfowl / migratory birdsShotguns 10 ga or smaller with federally approved nontoxic shot size F or smaller for waterfowl; shotguns limited to 3 shells (one-piece plug) for all migratory birds.Possessing lead shot while hunting waterfowl.

Field rules for rails

Vehicles, boats and aircraft

guide

Unlawful to hunt from a vehicle, plane, or boat under power; unlawful to hunt or shoot from or across a public road or discharge a firearm within 50 yards of a public road.

Transporting game killed by another

guide

Deer: written name, address, phone, license number and Game Check confirmation number of the hunter. Migratory birds: hunter signature, address, number by species and dates.

2026-27 guide (PDF) and the hunting information page, checked October 13, 2026.

Rail country gear list

Buttons open a live Amazon search, so you see current prices.

Amazon links are affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no cost to you.

Duck decoys

Wood ducks, ringnecks and mallards on beaver ponds and reservoirs.

Today’s Amazon prices

Chest waders

Swamp water and flooded timber from November on.

Today’s Amazon prices

Goose decoys

Resident Canada geese on fields and lake coves.

Today’s Amazon prices

Duck call

A single reed for mallards and wood ducks.

Today’s Amazon prices

Rail questions, answered from the guide

When is marsh hen season in Georgia?

Clapper and king rails are open Sep 11 to Sep 14, 2026 and Sep 26 to Nov 30, 2026, 15 a day.

Which days are rails legal in 2026-27?

The rail dates are king, clapper, sora and virginia rails Sep 11 to Sep 14, 2026; king, clapper, sora and virginia rails Sep 26 to Nov 30, 2026.

What can I hunt rails with?

Waterfowl / migratory birds: Shotguns 10 ga or smaller with federally approved nontoxic shot size F or smaller for waterfowl; shotguns limited to 3 shells (one-piece plug) for all migratory birds.

Which permits apply to rails?

Marsh hen hunters need (resident price): Hunting License ($15.00); GA migratory bird license ($5.00).

How many rails can one hunter take in Georgia?

15 per day; possession 3x daily. 25 per day; possession 3x daily.

What time does legal light end for rails?

Sunset is the end of legal time for rails, as for doves and ducks; the morning start is 30 minutes before sunrise.

What public ground in Georgia has rails?

130 areas on our list qualify; the largest are Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forests, Blue Ridge Ranger District (Chattahoochee National Forest) and Chattooga River Ranger District (Chattahoochee National Forest).

Is baiting legal for rails?

The federal baiting rule, 50 CFR Part 20, applies to rails.

Do marsh hen hunters have to wear orange in Georgia?

Migratory bird hunters may skip the orange, even on WMAs during deer gun hunts.

May marsh hen hunters go out on Sundays?

Sundays are open for rails under the statewide seasons; a WMA listing can set its own days.

Before the rail trip

WRD’s guide is the final word on rails; this page was checked against it on October 13, 2026.

Other photos on this page: sgharvey (CC BY 2.0); Judy Gallagher (CC BY 2.0); USFWS Mountain Prairie (CC BY 2.0); usdanrcstexas (CC BY 2.0); DaPuglet (CC BY-SA 2.0); Virginia State Parks staff (CC BY 2.0).